The Universitat receives the honorary award at the Onda Cero València Awards

  • Office of the Principal
  • December 3rd, 2019
Imagen de la noticia
Foto: Onda Cero València

The 19th edition of the Onda Cero València Awards awarded the Universitat de València with the distinction of honour on the occasion of the academic institution's 520th birthday.

The Principal of the Universitat de València, M. Vicenta Mestre, accepted on Monday 2nd December the 'Valencian of Honour' award of the 19th Annual Onda Cero València Awards given at the Universitat de València on the occasion of the academic institution’s 520th birthday.

Maria Vicenta Mestre thanked ‘on behalf of the Universitat de València this honorary award on the part of Onda Cero València, a recognition to the public university, but also to everything that goes much further and connects the Universitat with society, its problems and needs’. The Principal, who also congratulated the rest of the awardees, highlighted that ‘the work of the radio and of each of the prize-winners is an essential complement to our work as a dedicated public institution with a scientific and social impact’.

Also, in this edition, the Bioparc Foundation in the Society category, the CECOTEC company, the Maduixa Teatre company in the Art and Culture section, the Doctor Bonaventura Casanova in Science; the Vivir en Solidaridad Project; and the referee Antonio Mateu Lahoz for Sports. 

The event took place in the Espai Rambleta in the city of València and was attended by numerous authorities such as the President of the Valencian Government, Ximo Puig; the Mayor of Valencia, Joan Ribó; the President of the Valencian Parliament, Enric Morera; the Government Delegate in the Valencian Community, Juan Carlos Fulgencio; the Councillor for Justice, Public Administration, Democratic Reforms and Public Freedoms, Gabriela Bravo; and the Councillor for Participation, Transparency, Cooperation and Democratic Quality, Rosa Garijo.

On behalf of the university community, the General Secretary of the Universitat, Mª Elena Olmos; the Vice-Principal for Research, Carlos Hermenegildo; the Vice-Principal for Economics and Infrastructure, Justo Herrera; the Vice-Principal of Innovation and Transfer, Maria Dolores Real; and the Vice-Principal for Academic Regulations and Teaching Staff, Ernest Cano, attended the ceremony.