The University of Valencia is a member of the FORTHEM Alliance, a part of the European Universities Initiative.



The FORTHEM Alliance consists of seven universities that are situated (all but one) outside the capital regions. It was created in 2019 and is a network of institutions that have the dynamism and flexibility to experiment innovative forms of collaboration.

The alliance network

has the Weimar Triangle as its core:

  • Dijon (France)
  • Mainz (Germany)
  • Opole (Poland)

represents the Scandinavian and Baltic region as well as the Iberian Peninsula:

  • Jyväskylä (Finland)
  • Riga (Latvia)
  • Valencia (Spain)

and goes deep into the south of Europe:

  • Palermo (Italy)

In September 2021, FORTHEM Alliance decided to invite two new partner universities: Universitetet i Agder, Norway and Universitatea Lucian Blaga din Sibiu, Romania. These universities became full partners in September 2022.


Involvement of students, staff members and external stakeholders

The FORTHEM project enhances the mobility of students and staff members, cooperation with external stakeholders and civic activities of students.


FORTHEM universities