Neuroplasticity - NBL

Reference of the Group:


Description of research activity:

The main objective of our research group is to investigate the structural plasticity of the adult brain. We analyze this process at the level of synaptic reorganization, neurite and spine remodeling and neuronal production/incorporation. We are particularly interested in how this structural plasticity is involved in psychiatric disorders, such as schizophrenia and major depression and their treatment. To achieve this objective, we use animal models of these disorders and postmortem material from psychiatric patients. We use different strains of mice expressing fluorescent proteins in selected neuronal populations to visualize structural remodeling, both in fixed tissue and in real time, using organotypic cultures and cerebral windows.

Scientific-technical goals:
  • Estudi de la plasticitat del sistema nerviós adult
Research lines:
  • Neuroplasticity. Estudi de la plasticitat del sistema nerviós adult. Estudi de la plasticitat estructural de interneurones en el cervell adult i el paper de l'àcid polisiàlic en esta plasticitat, la microcircuiteria del bulb olfactori i l'hipocamp, tant en condicions normals com patològiques (síndrome de Down, epilèpsia…). Estudi de la plasticitat del sistema nerviós adult. Estudio de la plasticidad estructural de interneuronas en el cerebro adulto y el papel del ácido polisiálico en esta plasticidad, la microcircuitería del bulbo olfatorio y el hipocampo, tanto en condiciones normales como patológicas (síndrome de Down, epilepsia…). Study of the plasticity of the adult nervous system. Study of the estructural plasticity of interneurons in the adult brain and the role of polisialyc acid in this plasticity, the microcircuitry of the olfactory bulb and the hippocampus, both in control and in pathological (Down Syndrome, epilepsy...) conditions.
Group members:
Name Nature of participation Entity Description
Juan Nacher RosellóDirector-a UVEG-Valencia Catedràtic-a d'Universitat
Equip d'investigació
José Miguel Blasco IbañezMembre UVEG-Valencia Titular d'Universitat
Carlos Crespo RuperezMembre UVEG-Valencia Titular d'Universitat
Emilio Varea LópezMembre UVEG-Valencia Catedràtic-a d'Universitat